cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Port Forwarding

Yesterday I tried to ascertain why the pert forwarding I had set up over a year ago had become unstable. I logged into my Helix Modem/Router and went to the Port Forwarding section of the Advanced settings. I added an additional port forward entry but, for some reason,  none of my entries worked. Somehow I found out that from now on I would have to use the website at helixfi.videotron.com in order to put in my entries.

To give you a little background, I am a retired computer professional with over 40 years of experience in the field. In all that time I have never come across a setup that was so poorly written. I really don't know why it was necessary to deploy it in the first place since port forwarding has always been something folks did locally on their routers. I have at least three observations to make regarding the performance of this website.

First, the website nor the Helix h/w use name resolution properly. Therefore all the Connected Devices show mainly MAC addresses without their names being resolved so you need to create a table yourself to cross check which MAC address corresponds to which connected device. 

Second, the ability to set up port forwarding locally is now removed so we need to deal exclusively with the website. The actual interface on the website is klunky. The drop-down list of the "Selected the device for this port forward" doesn't even match the one on he Helix equipment. Devices are listed as "Generic Windows PC/Laptop" or "Asus Windows PC/Laptop". If I only had 1 or 2 devices on my home network I could mange to identify them this way. Unfortunately, I have over 20 computers without counting all the virtual systems I have also deployed. Therefore, it is virtually impossible to figure this out. Yes, name resolution is the key!!!