cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A projector on your phone

MathieuRoy
Chroniqueur techno

MotoZ2Play_Projector_Ogilvy ATL_Resized.png

Many manufacturers have taken a stab at modular phones, but Motorola has come out on top.

With the MOTO Z line, you have the chance to pimp your device by sticking an accessory to it. Known as “Moto Mods,” these accessories snap snugly onto your phone using powerful magnets and are very easy to swap.

The concept piqued my curiosity. The Mods line comes with seven different accessories, which include a 360 camera, gamepad controller and speakers. I was excited about the prospect of improving sound quality with JBL speakers and the result was really good. I also loved the practicality of instantly boosting my battery life for long days—yes, there’s a Mod for that too. I also briefly tested the Hasselblad Mod, which is a camera with a 10x optical zoom. Since I’m not a photography pro, it was hard for me to assess it properly, but I did notice a clear improvement over my phone’s integrated camera.

A promising projector

Of all the available Mods, the one I was most eager to try was the Insta-Share Projector. This tiny projector is just 1.1 cm thick and, like all other Mods, it piggybacks onto your phone. The Insta-Share Projector is incredible for its size. Naturally, you can’t compare it to a $1,000 home theatre projector, but the Insta-Share Projector can quickly turn any surface into a 65- to 70-inch screen. It’s a great way to share content saved on your phone with family, friends or coworkers.